J.C. Blair Auxiliary’s Gala Supports Purchase of New Anesthesia Equipment

The 2014 Monte Carlo Ball, the annual signature fundraising event for J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital’s Auxiliary, was a huge success due to the support of many members of the community and numerous corporate sponsors. Because of the generosity of those individuals and businesses, the Auxiliary was able to raise and donate over $57,000 to the hospital. For over 100 years, the Auxiliary has provided funds to enhance, update, and augment its healthcare services. This year the money raised was earmarked for new anesthesia machines.

Lisa Mallon, President and CEO of J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital, explained “State-of-the-art anesthesia equipment is important to serve our patients and support our surgeons and surgical staff. The new equipment allows us to continue our tradition of providing the highest quality of care to the community we serve.”

Allison Ghaner, Ray Ghaner, Jay Pierotti and Diane Stroman organized the extravaganza, formerly known as the Charity Ball, which provided many opportunities for members of the Huntingdon area to support their local hospital. The evening included a delicious dinner, dancing, and games-of-chance.

The Auction Committee, led by Co-Chairs Gabriel and Jill Welsch, included Bo Border, Ray Ghaner, Edward Kitchen, Robert Ritchey, John Thompson, and Jay Pierotti. Other community members who contributed to the event were Rhonda Muir, Chair of the Decoration Committee; Jamie Muir, Chair of the Beverages Committee; Bus Hosts Dominick and Miranda Peruso; Amy Miller, Chair of the Publicity Committee; Auxiliary Board President Kim Kitchen; and Auxiliary Board President Elect Miranda Peruso. The Promise Keeper Committee included Keith Black, Jim Bookhamer, Art DeCamp, John Eastman, Jeff Hayes, Greg Jackson, Jerry Kruse, Nick Newfield, Jay Pierotti, Mike Ross, Cheryl Shope, and Gabe Welsch.

Plans for next year’s gala are already underway which will be held November 7, 2015 at Juniata College. 

The Auxiliary to J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital is grateful for its Corporate Sponsors and Promise Keepers which include Caring Promise Partners: ACCO Brands and Mutual Benefit Group; Hope Promise Partner RBC Wealth Management; Service Promise Partners: J.C. Blair Medical Staff, Kish Bank, Marshfield Associates, and Turner Dairy Farms, Inc.; Four Star Promise Keeper Sheetz; Three Star Promise Keepers: Brett and Debbie Acker, John J. Brady, John and Jeannine Coursen, Juniata College, Law Office of Gill, McManamon and Ghaner, Lisa Mallon and Gregory Beckowski, Dale and Margaret Miller, PinnacleHealth, Mr. Robert and Dr. Kara Ritchey, Julie and Steve Sliver, Diane Stroman and Jay Pierotti, John and Angie Thompson; Two Star Promise Keepers: Ed and Carol Anderson, Centre Pathology Associates, E.B. Endres, Inc., Drs. Allen and Molly Ettenger, First Energy Corporation, First National Bank, Honorable Michael E. Fleck, Jim’s Anchorage Corp., Keller Engineers, Inc., Long Family Dentistry, Ruth and Bob McDowell, Robert and Laurie McMinn, Jamie and Rhonda Muir, Pam and Phil Thompson, Dr. J. Peter Trexler, Rob and Jan Yelnosky; One Star Promise Keepers:

David Archey and Jillian Hollen-Archey, Jack and Kathleen Barlow, Carl and Marcia Baxter, In memory of Lynne M. Bayer, BMZ Law, P.C., Jim and Sharon Bookhamer, Dr. Donald and Mrs. Sarah Braxton, Bill and Linda Bressler, Rosann and Bill Brown, Bumgardner and Flasher Oil, Inc., Art and Sharon DeCamp, John and Barb Eastman, Dr. Craig and Pat Eisenhart, Ed and Rita Gargula, Michael and Patsy Gaugler, Ray and Allison Ghaner, Scot and Rosemary Gill, Damien Gresko and Rachel Maier, Mr. and Mrs. Ellis J. Griffith, John and Janet Hanna, Jeffrey and Christine Hayes, Jody and Steve Huston, Gregory A. Jackson, O.J. Johnston, Ed and Kim Kitchen, Jerry and Lisa Kruse, Sara and Bill Kupchella, Jim and Bonnie Lakso, Fred Lear and Valerie Copenhaver, Melanie MacDonald, Tom and Monica Marko, Joe and Connie Masciangelo, John Matter and Sally Oberle, Tom and Pam Matthias, Mr. and Mrs. Gary Miller, Dr. and Mrs. Wilfred G. Norris, James and Shirley Painter, Dr. and Mrs. Dominick F. Peruso, Jr., Douglas and Marlene Pierce, Price Motor Sales, Ken and Millie Rockwell, Michael and Kimberly Ross, George and Marlene Sample, Joe and Dawn Scialabba, Shoaf & Wencker, LLC, Barry and Cheryl Shope, Dave and Andrea Smith, John and Martha Swigart, Don Talasky, Mr. and Mrs. Lester Van Alstyne, Frances Vaughn and Kurt Wykoff, Keith and Nancy Waddle, Samuel L. Wagner, John R. Wald Company, Gabriel and Jill Welsch, William and Sue Yaudes, Mary and Bob Zimmerer.

Special thanks to Lake Raystown Resort, Balfurd’s Linens, SunLab Media, Laura Ashley Photography, Jim Craig, and everyone who donated to the silent auction.